Skip to main content

2019 NCEES Engineering Education Award winners

Grandprize winner

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln is the grand prize winner of the 2019 NCEES Engineering Education Award. The university received the award for a project completed by the Charles W. Durham School of Architectural Engineering and Construction. The award jury met June 4, 2019, in Clemson, South Carolina, to select the $25,000 grand prize winner.

For the school’s project, Jack H. Miller Center for Musical Arts (PDF), architectural engineering students collaborated with professional engineers, architects, and other professionals to design the structural, mechanical, and electrical systems for the Jack H. Miller Center for Musical Arts on the Hope College campus in Holland, Michigan. The design offers superior acoustics, integrated timber or engineered wood throughout 25 percent of the building, and a rooftop amenity space that can be used year-round.

The jury praised the project for involving different engineering disciplines and a practical design solution.

Additional winners

Browse through all past award winners.

NCEES Engineering Education Award book

Download the NCEES Engineering Education Award book (PDF), a publication that highlights each year’s winning projects.