NCEES announces winners of 2019 NCEES Surveying Education Award

NCEES is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 NCEES Surveying Education Award. This annual award recognizes surveying programs that best reflect the organization’s mission to advance licensure for surveyors in order to safeguard the health, safety, and welfare of the public.

NCEES awarded the New Mexico State University Geomatics/Surveying Engineering program the $25,000 grand prize. Six additional prizes were awarded to qualifying programs to assist with each program’s continued efforts to promote the importance and value of surveying licensure. The award jury considered criteria such as student outcomes and involvement, outreach and recruitment, and the promotion of licensure. The award jury met June 27, 2019, in Clemson, South Carolina, to select the winners.

NCEES Surveying Education Award juror Henry Dingle, P.S., stated, “The jury was very impressed with the constant advancement of the geomatics/surveying engineering program over the last four years. It could be a model for other programs across the country.”

$25,000 grand prize winner

  • New Mexico State University
    Department of Engineering Technology and Surveying Engineering
    Geomatics/Surveying Engineering program

$15,000 winners

  • East Tennessee State University
    Department of Engineering, Engineering Technology, and Surveying
    Surveying and Mapping Science program
  • New Jersey Institute of Technology
    School of Applied Engineering and Technology
    Surveying Engineering Technology program
  • University of Maine
    College of Engineering
    Surveying Engineering Technology program

$10,000 winners

  • Idaho State University
    College of Technology Surveying and Geomatics
    Engineering Technology program
  • Oregon Institute of Technology
    College of Engineering, Technology, and Management
    Geomatics program
  • University of Akron
    Department of Engineering and Science Technology
    Surveying and Mapping program

Find more information about the award here.