Winners of 2016 NCEES Surveying Education Award announced

Ten surveying programs each receive $10,000 cash prize

NCEES is pleased to announce the recipients of the inaugural NCEES Surveying Education Award. This annual award recognizes surveying programs that best reflect the organization’s mission to advance licensure for engineers and surveyors in order to safeguard the health, safety, and welfare of the public.

NCEES awarded a $10,000 prize to ten qualifying programs to assist with each program’s continued efforts to promote the importance and value of licensure. The award jury considered criteria such as student outcomes, student involvement, outreach, and recruitment. The award jury met June 23–24, 2016, in Clemson, South Carolina, to select the winners.

The jury selected ten programs to receive awards of $10,000 each:

    Ferris State University
    College of Engineering Technology
    Surveying Engineering program

    Michigan Technological University
    School of Technology
    Surveying Engineering program

    Nicholls State University
    Department of Applied Sciences
    Geomatics program

    Oregon Institute of Technology
    College of Engineering, Technology, and Management
    Geomatics program

    Parkland College
    Department of Engineering Science and Technologies
    Construction Design and Management: Land Surveying program

    Southeast Technical Institute
    Department of Engineering Technology
    Land Surveying Science Technology program

    The University of Akron
    College of Applied Science and Technology
    Surveying and Mapping program

    Troy University
    College of Arts and Sciences
    Surveying and Geomatics Sciences program

    University of Florida
    School of Forest Resources and Conservation
    Geomatics program

    University of Maine
    College of Engineering
    Surveying Engineering Technology program

More information about the 2017 NCEES Surveying Education Award cycle will be posted at when available.